Month: September 2015

  • Settling in to our New Home

    Dear Folks,

    My two younger boys and I are sitting out on the veranda.  They are doing some math it seems.  I aim to record some recent events.  We took a trip yesterday and the day before, to Satterwhite Point on Kerr Reservoir.  The two younger boys wanted to go; whereas, the three older offspring preferred to stay home and study for their computer courses at the local community college.  It is great that they can get college credit for zero tuition (up to sixty hours total over two years), while they are still in high school.  Homeschoolers around here take good advantage of this system . . . just one more way they are leaving their brick-and-mortar school "peers" in the dust.

    We have got to find a way to persuade and coax the homeschoolers to share some of their dazzling ingenuity with the poor people in public schools.  My four older children teach at the local middle school.  This is good for the students, and very good for my children.  I will explain more about that later.
    IMG_2712

    Here we are together, My Little General on the left, me in the center, and My Clever Lad on the Right.  A Camping Trip with our Jesus Seeking Home Schooling Association 
    IMG_2706
    Here we have Home Schoolers gathered around a table at night, playing a hearty round of "Apples to Apples."  IMG_2693
    Here we are in our tent.  It kept the rain off of us well. We were cozy, warm and dry. IMG_2680
    Here we have an unconfirmed sighting of Bigfoot.